Far away

PHOTO (April 2013 – Canon 1000D – Los Angeles)

IMG_1503

 

– Totally personal post so don’t say I didn’t warn you. Plus I just downed some pre-dinner whiskey –

Million miles away from where I stood (Photography-wise) a year ago. And this picture came up in my mind. I was casually browsing through my files from January 2013 and I can’t believe I’ve made so much progress. And it’s not so much from a practical or technical (maybe) standpoint rather than it is in my newly acquired mindset.

I can remember I felt empty, no inspiration at all, shot because I felt i “had to”. I can clearly remember waking up on a Saturday morning at my hotel back in April, having stayed in Seattle for over a week and having shot no more than 30 pictures, which was ridiculous to me considering the environment I was in (I’m so in love with that city, but I’ll touch on that at another time..). So I got out of bed with just one idea on my mind. Fill up my 4 gig SD card before lunch time. And so I got on the streets, and started shooting away carelessly and randomly. I walked without a specific destination with one thing on my mind: “fill that bitch up!”. I just took a peek at those shots right now…. of course a few of them I would save but that’s not the point. It’s the intention. And this is finally one thing that film has taught me, to shoot with intention. I can get out at any time without knowing where to go or what to shoot. And that’s fine! The point is recognizing, understanding, thinking about what I want, and trying to capture it. And this is what I’ve been doing in the past months.

Leave a Reply

