Those rare times when Engineering comes in handy

Times like these.

I finally understood where my bad scans came from, although it took me a little trial and error.

So basically I was getting this weird orange vertical lines on the edges of my shots. Here’s what I’m talking about:

Untitled

 

Worst thing was I had absolutely NO IDEA what it was coming from… And I was just about clueless on what keywords to give Google to help me out. I tried extending the the scanning area (thinking it was due to some sort of weird color balancing) but with no success, flipping the negative, I tried to find a sweetspot in my scanning cartridge – Nothing. And so I just thought I had a crappy old second hand scanner… Then i noticed that my negatives were always in sets of 4 pictures and the ones in the middle never showed this kind of behaviour… and then it hit me. The 4 picture negatives where coming from an entire roll that i personally cut up myself, therefore was completely winded. The edges at each cut were more distant to the scanners glass than the rest of the picture, hence the ORANGE (duh..) gradation of the negative itself (maybe..).

Anyway, end result is my scans are looking a lot better now. And also closing out the scan area around the picture itself helps the color balance out considerably. So….I’m scanning a lot now. And glad I can do it successfully.

Plus my scanner is so slow I can watch my sitcoms while I scan 16 pictures. Convenient as well!!

Leave a Reply

