Exercise

PHOTO (Napoli – July 2014 – X100s)
DSCF0167
Sometimes you look at a picture passively, maybe you appreciate the photo itself, you stay on it a little, and maybe after going on to the next you go back to look at it some more. You stall, and then you go forward. I don’t know about you but this happens to me more often than not.

I’ve noticed recently that reading books helps my shooting a lot – sometimes I’m looking at a scene and suddenly a picture I saw in a book comes to my mind. And in the past few weeks I’m noticing this happening more often.

So I came to the realization that this is something I need to improve (since I already do it naturally and I think it’s a good thing). I will try, as best as I can, to stop whenever I look at a picture and try to do answer these simple questions: what was the person thinking when he/she clicked the shutter button? What was the reason  that made him/her think “Oh! This is something I need to shoot!”?. Simple as that. I’ll document the progress that comes out of this mental process in a few days/weeks.

Leave a Reply

