September in Seattle

This “project” that i’m on about being more constant about getting some small sets out every other day or so is helping me learn more about the struggle of editing. How do you go from 300 pictures down to 15? what about 10? or 1..?  This is actually what stopped me last night from posting this set.. then i thought i’d give it a day to marinate… so today i decide i would settle on 15.

DSCF2216DSCF2228 DSCF2243

Trimming them down to 50 was kinda easy, although i still had a few duplicates on which i couldn’t make up my mind. But even without those, the situation didn’t change much… DSCF2244 DSCF2268 DSCF2273 DSCF2341

So my initial thought was to just break them up into day and night. But if i did in there were two negative consequences: 1) higher percentage of crappy shots 2)it would not have been any use in my quest to learn how to edit down my sets.DSCF2359 DSCF2374

DSCF2395

I have to say, i like the harmony with which they go from full day shots to night. They were shot over a full week. One full weekend plus the workdays or what was left of them…

DSCF2418 DSCF2406

DSCF2425

Without exaggerating (i think it’s more a coincidence) but they do tell the tale of my week in Seattle in September. A little lonely, most of it spent in Capitol Hill, a lot of walking and an equal time of dark and light considering my alarm clock was set at 4:30 am every day to beat I5 traffic…

DSCF2476 DSCF2481Thoroughly enjoyed it though. Looking forward to get back in January if everything lines up, but i’m expecting all my shots will be dark then.

Leave a Reply

