4 thoughts

Photo31_6A.jpg
Lisbon – 2015 

Easy Saturday night. Closing out the day with a really good IPA from the bar on the corner that i decided to bring upstairs with me. The day started out slow, still recuperating from the night before. Got out of the house around 2 pm to scout the area for locations and stopping by at a couple of places to take some photos of Francesca’s new line of clothes. Took some personal pictures too with the Pentax and i’ll probably develop those today or this week.

I have some thoughts in mind lately.

  1. buy an M6. I can get around the idea of spending 1200 euros for a camera. I’ve done it before but sometimes digital helps justify the purchase: technology costs. But i can get past that. But am i going to put a cheap lens on such a high class body? Of course not. I bought my spotmatic for 60 euros and have always been using a cheap 8 euro 29mm lens i bought at a local flea market. Even if i wanted to do that with a Leica, it would be literally impossible to find a 28/35mm M-mount lens for less than 500 euros. So i’m looking at probably no less than a 1800euro expense here. This is stopping me.
  2. I decided tri-x is for me. It’s not just about the look, which i do prefer over everything i’ve tried so far. I scan my own negs and i freakin hate Ilford’s curl once dried. And kentmere doesn’t have enough contrast. So i need to buy a bulk of tri-x, at least 10 rolls. Should be able to do it next time i’m in Napoli. OR buy them online but it appears this time around, buying online will not be my cheapest solution. So i have to wait until i’m back in napoli again. Most likely next weekend.
  3. I’m starting to think about shooting some color, but i want to develop it myself so i’m waiting for a good trip. Mabye for our upcoming Munich trip early june. And i still don’t know if i want to develop it myself…. but would need to shoot at least 15-20 rolls first. I don’t know…
  4. The thought of shooting some digital is starting to bug me lately. I picked up my DSLR again the other day for Francesca’s shoot and again today. It was nice to be able to just shoot away, even though it did seem sort of “empty”… i don’t know. Sometimes it just seems weird that i’m lusting over a Leica, when i have probably one of the best digital modern day rangefinders (X100s) just sitting on a shelf for the last six months untouched… But there’s time.

And to confuse me even more today i saw one of the BEST 1-line advertisements ever. And now i’m even more unsure of what to do….

02f6ffef369e756fb64d32856e20ff74.jpg

How can one argue this?

Leave a comment